1
CONTACT US   
CONFERENCES & INSTITUTES
   

Texas Citizen Bee

 

The Texas Citizen Bee is a statewide civic education program and competition which offers teachers and high school students (9th-12th grades) an exciting way to reach and study America's heritage. The students will use the on-line "Study Guide" program created by the Bill of Rights Institute. The guide covers the U.S. Constitution, important documents, people, issues, civic values and skills and a Bill of Rights Institute article/current events category. The "Study Guide" can be found at www.citizenbee.org

Competitions begin with all contestants taking a timed, multiple choice written examination, which counts 65 percent of the final score. Then students compete in an oral round, in which each student answers one question from each of the categories. This round counts 35 percent of the final score.

Prizes for winners at regional competitions vary and are determined by the regional coordinators. The winning student at the regional competition will be eligible to compete in the state competition which will be held April 26, 2014 at the Texas Law Center in Austin. Expenses for the winning students, their teachers, and parents will be provided by the grant from the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation.

Texas Citizen Bees will be held March through April 12, 2014 in every Regional Education Service Center area.

TEACHER/SPONSORS:
Contact the person listed below in your ESC area for more information on the regional competition, and to receive materials.

 

Region

Contact

Number

Email

Contest Date

1

Jose Saenz (J.J.)

956-984-6172

 

jjsaenz@esc1.net

April 5, 2014  

2

Tom Jaggard

361-561-8515

tom.jaggard@esc2.us

March 20, 2014  

3

Jamie Purcell

361-573-0731 ext. 250

jpurcell@esc3.net

 

March 18, 2014  

4

Raymond Balch

713-512-3400

rbalch@EHSHOUSTON.org

 

March 29, 2014  

4

George Villamanga

281-231-1727

281-785-9741 (cell)

grvilla@sbcglobal.net

 

April 5, 2014  

5

Mavis Triebel

409-984-6332

Mavis.Triebel@lamarpa.edu

March 6, 2014

6

Leah George 

935-709-3000 (school)

713-822-1551 (cell)

lgeorge@conroeisd.net

 

April 3, 2014  

7

Cheri Hood

903-988-6753

chood@exch.esc7.net

April 4, 2014  

8

Kerri Bowles

903-575-2720

kbowles@reg8.net

 

April 9, 2014  

9

Janie Worst

972-571-3146

jworst@cuoftexas.org

TBA 

10

Nicole Michener

Ben Reed

469-752-8170

nicole.michener@pisd.edu

April 5, 2014  

11

Kathy Uhlich

817-740-3680

kuhlich@esc11.net

April 5, 2014  

12

Denny Warren

254-297-1161

dwarren@esc12.net

March 26, 2014  

 

13

Betsy Gonzales

Rachel Hernandez  

512-415-1783

512-919-5288

betsygonzales79@gmail.com

March 29, 2014  

14

Mel Hailey

Jeanne Wray

325-674-2095

325-668-1697

 

haileym@.acu.edu

jwray@wtconnect.com

April 8, 2014  

15

Jerry Perry

Linda Stevens

 

325-340-8082

325 658-6571 or

325 481-4043

jerry.perry@angelo.edu

linda.stevens@netxv.net

 

 

16

Jim Calvi

806 290-1676 (cell)

806  651-2674 (office)  

jcalvi@mail.wtamu.edu

 

March 29, 2014  

17

Jenny Gaona

806-281-5805

jgaona@esc17.net

TBA  

18

Cindy Truitt

Kathy Austin

 

 

cindy.truitt@midlandisd.net

kaustin@esc18.net

March 22, 2014 

19

Alejandra Hobbs

915  256-3053 (cell)

951 747-8866 (office)

cahobbs@utep.edu

March 22, 2014

20

Sue Arredondo

210-379-6737 (cell)

earredondo@judsonisd.org

April 12, 2014